top of page

My first discussions with Mexican artists committed against gender-based violence.

Dernière mise à jour : 2 févr. 2021



Last week, I got to the heart of the matter. I was immediately immersed in what constitutes my project: musical commitment against gender-based violence. I found myself faced with artists who have decided to devote part of their art to these issues, from a personal angle for some, from a more universal angle for others.


My first artistic encounter was código2999. They are a Mexican rapper who started making music when they discovered that their thoughts easily catched the rhythms they were listening to. Their songs immediately embodied personal topics, sometimes from everyday life, sometimes from life itself.

We talked about one of their songs, Pensamientos Generales cuando voy a casa (General Thoughts when I come home), which is about the fear of walking in the street. A topic that many of my readers can feel themselves, feel this vibrant anguish of wandering in a street that is a little too dark, a little too isolated, or even in full light, but followed a little too closely by a disturbing shadow.

This is the topic that código2999 has chosen to expose.


"Yo también tengo una rutina y también me podrían matar" (I too have a routine [when coming back home] and they could also kill me).


Their other creations are available on the following link (I will soon translate the songs I share for non-Spanish speakers): https://soundcloud.com/sonlasveintiun_am


***



During a trip to a beautiful lake, Umecuaro, I met my second artist: Nanuq. On the way, he explained to me that he did not necessarily consider himself as an activist, or a committed artist, but as an artist celebrating life and therefore the equality of all people.

He performed one of his many compositions, Aquí donde nací (Here where I was born), engaging us to ask ourselves questions about the current state of the society, and to become actively engaged if something shocks us (for example, sexism). His philosophy is to act against what revolts us.


Regarding topics with a gender perspective: "Qué bonito caminar con miedo y inseguridad. [...] Si crees que nada de esto es bello, deja de ser parte de ella, [...] ponte en acción." (How beautiful it is to walk in fear and insecurity. [...] If you think that none of this is beautiful, stop being a part of it, [...] act.)


His compositions are available on the following link (I promise, they will also be translated): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRtw1t1Ko15EJWN_Oru6dNw/featured


***


These two very different meetings allowed me to set foot in this world that is still largely unknown to me. I saw the personal commitments, the difference in perception according to gender identity, the opportunities to fight through rhythm, melody, posture, gaze. The taking of power through music.

During these exchanges, other Mexican non-artists, activists or more disinterested Mexicans attended the performances, and their reactions, their expectations, also allowed me to better understand the place of this art in the fight against gender-based violence. I have seen people who are not very sensitive to gender issues get carried away by music and its claims. I have seen activists with bright eyes living the song. I have seen people who are more mocking, less convinced. I've seen a dreamy artist, an artist with rage in their heart.


I am under the spell of this music, convinced of its role in the fight against gender-based violence. But I feel that I still have a lot to discover, to understand the nuance of the artistic commitments and their impact in Mexico.


What about you? What do you think about it? Do you feel carried by this music? (if you don't understand them, at least by their rhythm)

I await your feedbacks in private or on my email charlotte.caillat@essec.edu.




28 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page